Today’s Passage…Romans 8:35-39

Posted on

 

 

Image result for Romans 8

 

Romans 8:35-39 (NIV)

35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? 36 As it is written:

“For your sake we face death all day long;
    we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”[a]

37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,[a] neither the present nor the future, nor any powers,39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Isn’t it true of every one of us? We all want that feeling of assurance and happiness that comes with security. When we have a promise of loyalty from someone we really trust, we rest more comfortably in our daily lives.

We have just that in the promise of Jesus to His followers in the words above. This is a favorite passage of many Christians, and it is full of that precious commodity of encouragement!

When we read such scriptures as this one, we know they are meant for the “soldiers in Christ.” They are also intended to encourage the disciples of Christ. If one is a student of the plight of Christians in the first century, he or she knows they were under continuous attack for their beliefs, even to the death.

It took strong and believable promises like these to help Christ followers to press on to the goal…that of eternal life in heaven with the Lord.

Today, in many civilized nations, we no longer live under the threat of death for our religious beliefs. But the pressures and demands of daily life, coupled with other types of persecutions we face from others for our beliefs, can drag us down.

We too need encouragement at times, in the same way as our brothers and sisters in Christ did 2,000 years ago! This is why we have the scriptures available to us today because the promises of Jesus are timeless. He knew we would need “morale-boosters” as we go along in our lives. After all, we are striving for the same goal as our ancestors, an eternity in heaven with the Lord of love!

So take heart each day, my friends. God will reward the ones who remain faithful to His commandments. Our prize is secure, just as it has always been, and just as it is for all who believed and persevered in the Lord from the beginning.

Let us finish with a bit of encouragement, just as we began. God will always bless all who seek Him in Spirit and truth! He will never leave us, nor forsake us…(Hebrews 13:5). So may we take up our cross daily and follow the Lord, as He has the words of eternal life!

Refs:

  1. “biblehub.com”
  2. “biblegateway.com”
  3. Google
  4. “The NIV Study Bible, copyright 1995, Zondervan”

 

~END

8 thoughts on “Today’s Passage…Romans 8:35-39

    crazyloveparent said:
    June 3, 2017 at 5:53 pm

    Amen! Such reassuring verses, Steve! 🙂 “Let us know become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we don’t give up!” 😉 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

      Light Ministry Blog responded:
      June 6, 2017 at 4:37 pm

      Thanks, Christina…they are reassuring. The bible is my favorite book for anything…studying or just casual reading. It’s obvious you know the bible pretty well yourself!

      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      crazyloveparent said:
      June 8, 2017 at 4:22 pm

      Yes, I agree, the Bible is my favorite book of all time and my go-to book for reading. I find it fun to compare all the different versions of the Bible – there are so many! I really like using the app You Version, because you can so easily flip between versions for verses you are studying. One of these days I will do a post about this app… in my “free time”, HA! 😉 Have a great rest of the week, Steve! —-Christina

      Liked by 1 person

      Light Ministry Blog responded:
      June 9, 2017 at 2:57 pm

      Hey that sounds like a great app.! But I am a “tech dummy” and don’t use any apps except on my ipad for games. I have a “flip phone” which is just right for a guy like me. I use a phone to make a call…period! Still, it would be very good to be able to scan different versions of the bible when studying verses. Does it also offer commentary on verses?

      And you have a great weekend, my friend… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      crazyloveparent said:
      June 9, 2017 at 8:15 pm

      Steve, – You can use this app on the iPad as well! Look it up! It was created by Craig Groeschel, I believe. It really is am amazing app! I am going to try to get that post done so I can point out the awesome features of this app, I love, love, love it!!! The other great feature is it’s many languages. So for me, I can find verses I want to share with my Latvian loves, and then I can switch it to Latvian Bible verse and my oldest can read in his mother tongue. AMAZING! It also has probably thousands of devotionals, reading plans, videos, you can create and share verse images, you can highlight and my favorite feature – bookmarks that you can tag with key words to order them by your tags and then pull them up by keyword..HOW COOL!!!! I can’t say enough about it! LOL! If you are looking more for commentary, another great app is LOGOS…;-)

      Liked by 1 person

      Light Ministry Blog responded:
      June 12, 2017 at 3:45 pm

      Wow, you DO love this app! I’m not much of a “techy,” but it does sound like a great tool for switching back and forth between verses in different versions of the bible, along with commentary. That would be what I’d use it for mostly. What is the name of this app again? I’ll look for it on my ipad. I’ll try to remember LOGOS too! BTW, I’ve heard of “bookmarks,” but what are they and how do you use them?

      I hope you had a great weekend, Christina!

      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      crazyloveparent said:
      June 13, 2017 at 3:42 am

      You Version is the name of the app. I will explain the bookmarks within the app with the post. If I can find the time to write it! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      Light Ministry Blog responded:
      June 13, 2017 at 6:35 pm

      I know what you mean…time is fleeting isn’t it. I found a site online which will give people the option of reading a verse in several translations but not any commentary or study notes. I may try to find this app…

      Like

Comments are closed.