The Prophets…

Posted on

 

Related image

 

From my brother in the faith, Paul…

“My morning Bible readings have taken me to the Old Testament Prophets.  I am currently in Jeremiah.  One of his themes is the importance of the word of God.  The horrors that Jeremiah proclaims will come upon the people, are because they did not heed the word of God.

 

The warnings bring me back to a phrase we don’t hear much anymore.   “For everything we have a ‘thus saith the Lord’”.  “The road to Hell is paved with good intentions” is ascribed to the Cisterian Monk, Bernard of Clarvaux in the 12th Century.  We have long had this problem.

 

Some may read Jeremiah and say, “He is legalistic.”  He expects things to be his way or the highway.

To whom can I speak and give warning? Who will listen to me? Their ears are closed so they cannot hear. The word of the LORD is offensive to them; they find no pleasure in it. (Jer. 6:10).

The wise will be put to shame; they will be dismayed and trapped. Since they have rejected the word of the LORD, what kind of wisdom do they have?  (Jer. 8:9).

 

Jeremiah leaves no room for interpretation: But you must not mention ‘a message from the LORD’ again, because each one’s word becomes their own message. So you distort the words of the living God, the LORD Almighty, our God. (Jer. 23:36)

 

We must have a standard.  It must be the word of God.  If we leave it to what feels right, or what seems right, we will follow our own message.  We have to follow God’s word even when it is not popular.

 

“This is what the LORD says: Stand in the courtyard of the LORD’s house and speak to all the people of the towns of Judah who come to worship in the house of the LORD. Tell them everything I command you; do not omit a word.  Perhaps they will listen and each will turn from their evil ways. Then I will relent and not inflict on them the disaster I was planning because of the evil they have done.  (Jer. 26:2-3)

 

God demands obedience.  “If you love me, keep my commands.” John 14:15″

 

~END

