Did Jesus Know?

Posted on

 

Related image

 

An email from my friend Paul—

Some Wednesday nights I go home and attend classes in Beaumont.  One week, Larry Meissner was teaching and he used the song “Mary Did You Know” for an illustration.  I love that song.  It causes me to wonder at the birth of Jesus.

As I pondered this song I visualized Mary looking down at the baby and I began to ponder about the perspective of Jesus as a baby.  As a newborn child did he stare up at his mother and ask, “If you only really knew what was going to happen…?”  Did he have the eyes of God as he gurgled and watched the limitless sky?  Did Jesus know as a newly created life that he is the creator?

As I ponder these thoughts and many others, my thoughts turned to the description of Jesus in Philippians 2:6-7:

6Who, existing in the form of God, did not consider equality with God something to cling to, 7but emptied Himself, taking the form of a servant, being made inhuman likeness. 8And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself and became obedient to death—even death on a cross.…

Berean Study Bible

He emptied himself.

Could it be that the infant Jesus was just that, an infant?  Was Jesus no different from our infant child who does not have prior knowledge or Godly insights?  Did Jesus look at the world around him from Mary’s arms and not know he created all things?  Did he have to learn?  How would that affect our understanding of the boy, Jesus, in the temple?

I know there is debate about the phrase “emptied” that it should be “poured out” but either way I marvel that Jesus was so …human.  Jesus became like us.  Jesus, the Great I AM, was defenseless and clueless.  God really loves us to pour out and be us.  How can that be?  My ponderer is stuck.  I can’t conceive how great God is, nor can I conceive Jesus without wisdom, power and might.  But there he is.  Oh, how he loves you and me.

 

~END

2 thoughts on “Did Jesus Know?

    Following Him said:
    March 11, 2017 at 7:27 am

    Wow. My brain can’t wrap itself around this either. What fascinating thoughts! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.