Psalm 57:1-5

Posted on Updated on

 

Image result for Psalms

 

PSALM 57:1-5

Have mercy on me, my God, have mercy on me,
    for in you I take refuge.
I will take refuge in the shadow of your wings
    until the disaster has passed.

I cry out to God Most High,
    to God, who vindicates me.
He sends from heaven and saves me,
    rebuking those who hotly pursue me—[c]
    God sends forth his love and his faithfulness.

I am in the midst of lions;
    I am forced to dwell among ravenous beasts—
men whose teeth are spears and arrows,
    whose tongues are sharp swords.

Be exalted, O God, above the heavens;
    let your glory be over all the earth.

This is yet another prayer from David for God’s love and protection as he faces his enemies. David was very devoted to God in true sincerity of heart as we know, and God was always good to him…

But this text could also be a prayer we ourselves could offer to God today. We might use a bit different or modern language or phraseology, but the meaning would be exactly the same.

It may sound something like this:

“Dearest Lord in heaven, have mercy on me as you hear my prayer.

For it is in You that I seek shelter from in the storms of life until they are over.

I cry out to You, O Lord, who fulfills your plans for me in accordance with your will.

You look down on me from Your throne of mercy and save me from the things which would do me harm. You send Your love and are faithful in your promises to me.

Lord, I hurt so much right now and the world is uncaring. The evil one has me on my knees and looks to do me great harm. His temptations and snares are pulling at me and I find it hard to fight them off!

Show that You are all powerful and mighty. Let me see Your glory as You comfort me in these times of trial. Do not lead me into temptation, but deliver me from evil…In the name of Jesus I pray, Amen!” 

If this is or could be your prayer today, “Like” this post and feel free to answer with an “Amen” in the comments. We all need the Lord in every way and in every day, whether or not we realize or admit to it!

Refs: ~biblegateway.com~ Google~ “The NIV Study Bible, copyright 1995, Zondervan”

~END

7 thoughts on “Psalm 57:1-5

    knittingwithheart said:
    March 2, 2017 at 7:42 am

    Amen… prayed thousands of years ago, yet still relevant today! 🙂 💜 Jackie@KWH

    Liked by 1 person

    Nina said:
    March 2, 2017 at 5:13 am

    Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

    francesrogers said:
    March 2, 2017 at 1:36 am

    Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.