Be Careful What You Pray For!

Posted on Updated on

 

 

 

The Atheist and the Bear

An atheist was taking a walk through the woods. ‘What majestic trees! What powerful rivers! What beautiful animals!’, he said to himself.

As he continued walking alongside the river he heard a rustling in the bushes. Turning to look, he saw a 7 foot grizzly charging towards him.

He ran as fast as he could up the path. Looking over his shoulder he saw that the bear was closing in on him. His heart was pumping frantically and he tried to run even faster.

He tripped and fell on the ground. He rolled over to pick himself up but saw the bear raising his paw to take a swipe at him.

At that instant the atheist cried out: ‘Oh my God!…’

Time stopped.
The bear froze.
The forest was silent.

It was then that a bright light shone upon the man and a voice came out of the sky saying:

‘You deny my existence for all of these years, teach others I don’t exist and even credit creation to a cosmic accident.  Do you expect me to help you out of this predicament? Am I to count you as a believer?’

The atheist looked directly into the light.

‘It would be hypocritical of me to suddenly ask you to treat me as a Christian now, but perhaps, could you make the BEAR a Christian?’

‘Very well, ‘said the voice. The light went out, and the sounds of the forest resumed.could you make the BEAR a Christian?

And then the bear lowered his paw, bowed his head and spoke: ‘Lord, bless this food which I am about to receive and for which I am truly thankful, Amen.’

 

 

Ref: “guy-sports.com”

14 thoughts on “Be Careful What You Pray For!

    knittingwithheart said:
    February 12, 2017 at 8:09 am

    LoL … yup… I’ve often warned about being careful what you
    pray for ’cause you just might get it! 😉 🙂 💜 Jackie@ KWH

    Like

    crazyloveparent said:
    February 2, 2017 at 10:15 pm

    Hahahahaha! You got me! 🤣🤣🤣 thanks for the good laugh, Steve!

    Liked by 1 person

    Following Him said:
    February 1, 2017 at 11:40 am

    Wow. That had quite a twist at the end. XD I loved this so much. 😊 It has a great point. I must admit that I laughed at what the bear said though; that was very amusing. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

      Following Him said:
      February 1, 2017 at 11:43 am

      Whoa. I have no idea what happened with my message there. o_O I didn’t intend to post twice. Sorry. XD

      Liked by 1 person

      Light Ministry Blog responded:
      February 2, 2017 at 9:55 pm

      No apology necessary, Grace. I’m happy to have you commenting, even if it is two times on the same thing…Lol!

      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Following Him said:
      February 3, 2017 at 6:29 am

      I’m glad! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

    Following Him said:
    February 1, 2017 at 11:27 am

    Wow. That had quite a plot twist at the end. 😂 I loved this so much. 😊

    Liked by 3 people

      Light Ministry Blog responded:
      February 2, 2017 at 4:57 pm

      Yes it did, that’s why I used it. It was just for some fun. I’ll use things like that from time to time 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      Following Him said:
      February 3, 2017 at 1:58 am

      I’m glad you do! 🙂 I printed it out so my mom and dad could read it. They got a kick out of it too. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      Light Ministry Blog responded:
      February 6, 2017 at 4:22 pm

      I’m glad. I go to that site at times to see what they have. I may go there today…

      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    Shattered in Him said:
    January 31, 2017 at 8:27 pm

    When I find myself praying for patience….well, I find myself regretting it! 😀 😀

    Liked by 2 people

      Light Ministry Blog responded:
      February 1, 2017 at 6:30 pm

      I’m sorry but I don’t understand just what you mean…

      Liked by 1 person

      Shattered in Him said:
      February 1, 2017 at 6:57 pm

      If you pray for patience, your patience will inevitably get tested to the extreme. So, be careful what you pray for… 🙂 I might have been thinking out loud because this post made think of those things I pray for, get tested with, and then go through that painful growth spurt as a result. Even the title of your post calls that to mind! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      Light Ministry Blog responded:
      February 2, 2017 at 10:52 pm

      I got it now! Yes, we pray for things and then we find out we need some “preparation” from the Lord before we can get what we ask for. I just think of the verse which says God disciplines those whom He loves…(Hebrews 12:6).

      It is the Lord who decides what is best for us, but you already know that!

      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.