Slippery Stuff?

Posted on

 

Image result for rain storm

 

As some of you know, I have a long-time friend named Paul. He sends me emails about two or three times a month. They usually share a thought about God in some way, so I like to share them with you. This last mailing had to do with some actual rain we got here in drought torn California.

Here’s what he had to say today:

“…What was that strange stuff in the air last week?  It had a funny smell and left the sidewalk and roads slippery.  It seemed to fall out of the sky, but it didn’t hurt.  It was soft, but it stuck to clothes.  I seem to remember it from our years in the Northwest before there was sun.  It is called rain.

It doesn’t take much rain for SoCal to be amused, complain or drive crazy.  We didn’t get much rain but we did have another opportunity to marvel at the wisdom of our God… All of God’s creation praised Him for this rain relief.  Did we?

Driving home there was no wind.  Every single windmill was immobile.  The clouds hung on the mountains giving different depth and meaning to the canyons.  It was eerie and yet beautiful.

About sunset we picked up our Grandson Logan from play practice.  Logan saw it first – a double rainbow, big, bright and beautiful.  It arched majestically over the fields and kissed the city skyline.  Debbie and Logan tried to take pictures out of the window as we drove.  Finally, I pulled the car over at a good spot so they could take all the pictures they wanted.   I noticed there were more cars parked on the side of the road than there were navigating the streets.  It seemed as if everyone wanted to stop and take pictures of the ravishing rainbow.

It is true; rainbows have been rare around here recently.  Still, I was amazed at how awed people were by the handiwork of God.  Isn’t that the purpose of a rainbow – to remind us of God and the promise he has made?  And maybe God sees the rainbow and confirms his covenant.

12 And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant I am making between me and you and every living creature with you, a covenant for all generations to come: 13 I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. 14 Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, 15 I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life.16 Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.”  17 So God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the covenant I have established between me and all life on the earth.”  Genesis 9.

Paul

