A Grandpa Beams…

Posted on Updated on

 

Image result for little girl's baptisms

 

I’m not sure how long I’ve known my friend Paul. But I do remember we used to eat lunch together sometimes in high school…but that was a number of years ago.

We also attended the same church growing up, so that goes back into grade school. Well, suffice it to say we have known each other for a long time.

Anyway, he sent me an email this morning. He has a grandchild, now 11 years old, who wants to have her “grandpa” baptize her into Christ. It goes beyond happiness for my friend to have this happen in his life, not to mention the life of his daughter, and of course his little grandchild. Paul views this event with both happiness and responsibility…

I have a portion of the email saved for you to read.

…It is hard to put in words the joy of being able to baptize your family members.  I distinctly remember my children being baptized…What joy!  I relate it to the day they were born.  Going to the hospital to see them and to hold them as a child only a few hours old is an awe inspiring moment.  As a father I stood awed when my children were born, but it accompanied a twinge of fear; how am I going to take care of this child?  As a grandparent, I’m not worried.  Let the dad worry.  I just enjoy and spoil.

At baptism I have the same feeling of ecstatic joy, but the twinge of fear lingers, for I realize that I bear a part of the burden of helping this child, new born into Christ, to grow in faith, hope and love for Jesus.  (She) is a wonderful child.  She is also an eternal soul.  I want her to go to heaven with me, so I will do all I can to help her grow in grace in Christ.

16 So from now on we regard no one according to the flesh. Although we once regarded Christ in this way, we do so no longer. 17 Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away.  Behold, the new has come!              – II Corinthians 5:16-17.

Let me say I hope for the very best for Paul, his family, and especially for his little granddaughter. May she grow up with an ever increasing appreciation for the things of God in Christ, and the grace she will have which forgives sins.

May we who rest in the body of Christ always be humbled by the sacrifice which Jesus made on our behalf at the cross. It is only through Him that we gain access to the Father, (John 14:6), and find our soul salvation.

God bless Paul’s Christian family, and may our Father bless us all on this and every day!

 

END

